profile entries archives refresh
tinea:any of a number of infectious diseases



�what is Man? a miserable little pile of secrets.� - andr� malraux

"i desire to live in peace and to continue the life i have begun under the motto, to live well you must live unseen." - rene descartes

interact

note
email
random entry
image credit


credits

design by : ilazarn ikmal
powered by : diaryland
safe and sound.
2015-03-13 @ 10:08 a.m.


one big thing that i did for myself recently was to buy an SSD. it should be arriving today. another big thing i did for myself was to sign up for amzn web srvcs so that i could use glacier, their virtual data vault. it's like $.01 per gb of space used, and $.03 per 1000 upload requests (i think, don't feel like logging in to check for sure). the expense is in the retrieval, which has this complicated pricing model, but i calculated it for about 100gb of my essential files and it only comes out to about $210. to me, this is a fucking bargain considering that when my hard drive failed some years ago with every photo i had ever taken (so many of my baby boy, lost) and two half-written novels that i had poured my soul into, every data recovery service i contacted quoted me $2k, up to $3.5k. i don't have that kind of scratch laying around, so to this day, the drive remains carefully wrapped and boxed, in my cool dry closet.

every time i think about that, i swear i get this sinking feeling in my stomach. i have mourned the loss of my work more than i have some people i've known who died, i think.

so, to prevent this from happening again, i have since made sure that my laptop doesn't move out of a 3 foot radius on my couch, never again to rest upon a table top unless it is in the center and absolutely impossible to nudge near an edge. any time that it needs to be transported, i bring the case to the computer, not the other way around. it never goes up or down a staircase without protection. i am fucking crazy now. knowing that going on 6 years with a laptop can be pushing it, i finally decided that i need to backup and upgrade BEFORE i start having problems. the peace of mind is beyond compare. i feel like that "ahhhh" seal meme right now.

so all of my essential stuff will be backed up probably by tonight (i'm doing it in chunks because it's using pretty significant bandwidth), so then i'll open this baby up, clean out the dust and cat fur, and pop in that new super fast drive. i'm backed up in multiple locations. everything is safe and sound. hopefully i'll never need to retrieve my files from amzn, but i know that i can, and that to store them for the entire year is only like $15. i feel so good about this.